Ego

Dear God,

I got excited yesterday.  Some might call it stress, but I am going to call it just excitement.  I wrote my daily quota on a book, a daily quota that I often don’t meet.  And I felt happy and mostly satisfied that the writing had flowed so well.

Then, in my excitement, I couldn’t sleep well last night.  Please give me two things:  good writing AND good sleep.  If any pattern of the ego is involved, may this habit just fall away. 

Yes, that is it, isn’t it?  A habit of feeling buoyed up in a drama when the writing goes well.  And that is ego.  What I am leaving behind.  Now I know yet another way to leave the ego behind.

Don’t let my writing get me too excited.

And I will sleep well.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

